February 2014

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 25 February (18:00)
Can human being behave “rationally”?

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesday, 26 February (16:00)
Crazy Critter Stories

CAFÉ  NIGHT 
Wednesday, 26 February (18:30)
LGBT

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday 27 February (18:00)
American Presidents - Part 2

March 2014

INFORMATION SESSION
Saturday,  1 March (11:30-13.30)
US Tax Clinic
DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 4 March (18:00)
How much “selfishness” is desirable?
CAFÉ  NIGHT 
Wednesday, 5 March (19:00)
Comedy Cinema
VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday 6 March (18:00)
American Presidents - Part 3

INFORMATION SESSION
Thursday, 6 March (16:00)
Study USA
DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 11 March (18:00)
Will future generations be very different from our own?
CAFÉ  NIGHT 
Wednesday, 12 March (19:00)
Boardgames

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesday, 12 March (16:00)
Splash! Fishy Tales

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday 13 March (18:00)
American Presidents - Part 4
DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 18 March (18:00)
Is environment more important than heredity?

CAFÉ  NIGHT 
Wednesday, 19 March (19:00)
International Women’s Club

VIDEO BOOK CLUB
Thursday, 20 March (19:30)
Michael Chabon  "Telegraph Avenue"

DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday 20 March (18:00)
American Presidents - Part 5
EVENT
Thursday, 20 March (16:00)
U.S. University Application Essay Workshop (Part I)

EVENT
Saturday, 22 March (Library Opening Times)
Booksale (Members Day)

EVENT
Monday, 24 March (18:00)
Nach dem Abi
DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 25 March (18:00)
Is it possible to eliminate war?
VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday 27 March (18:00)
American Presidents - Part 6

EVENT
Monday, 24 - Saturday 29 March (Library Opening Times)
Book Sale/Bücherflohmarkt

EVENT
Tuesday, 25 March (16:00)
U.S. University Application Essay Workshop (Part II)

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesday, 26 March (16:00)
ABC and 123!

CAFÉ  NIGHT 
Wednesday, 26 March (18:30)
LGBT


 

December 2013


INFORMATION SESSION
Monday, 2 December (18:00)
High School - Ein Schuljahr im Ausland mit Kaplan

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 3 December (18:00)
Is it Possible to Resist "Social Pressure"?

INFORMATION SESSION
Wednesday, 5 December (16:00)
Praktikum in den USA

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Wednesday, 5 December (18:00)
Stephen Hawking's Universe
Part 5

EVENT
09 (Mon) - 14 (Sat), December (13:00)
Bücherflohmarkt

INFORMATION SESSION
Monday, 9 December (18:00)
Studium und Praktikum in Australien und Neuseeland

DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 10 December (18:00)
Would the World be a Better Place if Everyone Spoke English?


STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesday, 11 December (16:00)
Christmas Cheer

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 12 December (18:00)
Stephen Hawking's Universe
Part 6

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 17 December (18:00)
Does Christmas still hold Religious Significance?

EVENT
Wednesday, 18 December (19:00)
Int. Women's Club Restaurant Visit


Upcoming Library Events

 November 2013


DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 5 November (18:00)
Should the State force us to be "healthy"?

INFORMATION SESSION 
Thursday, 7 November (16:00)
 Study USA

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 7 November (18:00)
 Stephen Hawking's Universe
 Part 1:  Seeing is Believing

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 12 November (18:00)
Why are stereotypes so appealing?

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesday, 13 November (16:00)
Yikes! Pirates!

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 14 November (18:00)
Stephen Hawking's Universe 
Part 2:  The Big Bang Theory

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 19 November (18:00)
 What does it mean to "have a sense of humor"?

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 21 November (18:00)
Stephen Hawking's Universe
Part 3: Cosmic Alchemy

VIDEO BOOK CLUB
Thursday, 21 November (19:30) 
Ian McEwan- "Saturday"

DISCUSSION GROUP
Tuesday, 26 November (18:00)
How much, if at all, should the State support the arts?

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
Wednesay, 27 November (16:00)
Fun with Family

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
Thursday, 28 November (18:00)
Stephen Hawking's Universe
Part 4: On the Dark Side

Check out photos from the 2013 DAI Halloween Party!
Simply click on the link below.
2013 DAI Halloween Party

Library events - October 2013


DISCUSSION GROUP
1 Oct, 18 Uhr – How much political power or influence does the "ordinary" citizen actually have?

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
3 Oct, 18 Uhr - no meeting

JUGENDAUSTAUSCHMESSE
5 Oct, 14 - 18 Uhr

DISCUSSION GROUP
8 Oct, 18 Uhr -  Is "free will" merely an illusion?

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
9 Oct, 16 Uhr – Big Fish in a little pond   

INFORMATION
10 Oct, 16 Uhr - Praktikum in den USA

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
10 Oct, 18 Uhr - The Aging brain

DISCUSSION GROUP
15 Oct, 18 Uhr -  Are religious beliefs necessary?

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
17 Oct, 18 Uhr - The Forgetting - a portrait of Alzheimer´s (1)

NEW VIDEO BOOK CLUB
17 Oct, 19.30 Uhr - George R. R. Martin - "Dreamsongs Vol. 1"
(Read: Only Kids Are Afraid of the Dark)


WORKSHOP
19 Oct, 13.00 - 15.30 Uhr - Workshop mit Fredrik Vahle

CONCERT FOR KIDS
19 Oct, 16.30 Uhr - öffentliches Kinderkonzert mit Fredrik Vahle

DISCUSSION GROUP
22 Oct, 18 Uhr - Do human beings need rituals?

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
24 Oct, 18 Uhr - Alzheimer´s (2)

DISCUSSION GROUP
29 Oct, 18 Uhr - Is the "Golden Rule" compatible with capitalism?

HALLOWEEN PARTY
30 Oct, 16 Uhr – bilingual Halloween Party! (for Kids 3 - 10 years)
Bitte einen Kürbis mitbringen, wenn Ihr Kind beim Kürbisgeist-Schnitzen mitmachen möchte.    


Library events - September 2013

DISCUSSION GROUP
3 Sept, 18 Uhr – Aside from having babies and breastfeeding, are there any things women can do that men can’t?                                      

INFORMATION
5 Sept, 16 Uhr – Studieren in den USA                                     

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
5 Sept, 18 Uhr – The Secret Life of the Brain – The Baby' Brain
 

DISCUSSION GROUP
10 Sept, 18 Uhr – How can we determine what is “right” and what is “wrong”?
                                                                                          
STORY TIME FOR KIDS
11 Sept, 16 Uhr – Who´s A Bookworm?                           

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
12 Sept, 18 Uhr – The Child’s Brain                          

DISCUSSION GROUP
17 Sept, 18 Uhr – Do parent-child relationships have to be difficult?                                                                                                  
VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
19 Sept, 18 Uhr – The Teenager’s Brain                    

INFORMATION
21 Sept, 15 - 17 Uhr – Girl Scout’s Open Day                                 

INFORMATION
23 Sept, 18 Uhr – High School – Ein Schuljahr im Ausland - mit TravelWorks                                                                                                                      
DISCUSSION GROUP
24 Sept, 18 Uhr – Does marriage have to be difficult?          

STORY TIME FOR KIDS
25 Sept, 16 Uhr – Live on a Farm                                

VIDEO DISCUSSION GROUP
26 Sept, 18 Uhr – The Adult’s Brain                       


We are happy to answer all your questions through email: library@dai-heidelberg.de or over the telephone: 06221 607315